Super Asian

“When will you stop taking photos?”

“The moment I die.”

I was watching a human interest story, featuring a renowned fashion photographer, on the Japanese channel NHK just a few hours ago. His name is Leslie Kee. His passion for photography and anything related to it is very remarkable, not to mention, the path that he had to take for him to fulfill his dreams. It was very inspiring watching him talk about what he loves to do and how far he has come in this competitive industry. He admits that it was hard being known in the field especially in the Western countries because of his ethnicity. Nonetheless, that didn’t stop him in pursuing what he loves to do.

For that short while, he has successfully inspired me. He made me believe that under whatever circumstances, it shouldn’t hinder your passion and drive to do what you love to do. I’m a dentistry student already in my 3rd (out of 6) year and underneath that love for what I am doing, lies a passion for art and culture. Let’s just say that the two isn’t the most compatible fields to live in a person’s heart, but I’ve always been a fan of individuality and I am most definitely driven by defying the norm. I don’t have to choose. I can live happily loving both because I can’t drop one of them, that would simply be the most hypocritical thing to do. I would be lying to myself because without the other, it wouldn’t be me. It wouldn’t be Alex, and I think that if you have the passion to do both, then there’s nothing wrong with that.

Check out Leslie Kee’s official website: http://www.lesliekeesuper.com/

Leave a Reply

